Saturday

At the end of a very rewarding week of VBS with the kids of Montellano and Mosuvi; and, working to paint and provide other services to the Colegio Episcopal Nino Jesus school and churches in Montellano and Mosuvi, we took the free day to travel to Puerto Plata. Along the way we stopped to visit this local artisan. From a tree branch and using a machete he produces the works of art you see here. The attached video shows the carving process. All the people I’ve met on this trip, including the artisan and his wife, have been kind and generous. Despite what at times may seem desperate conditions they live their lives with deep pride, warm hearts and ready smiles. I came here thinking about what I could do for them. I leave with the knowledge of what they have done for me.

– Lyle Kimbrell

Leave a comment